mayo clinicThe Mayo Clinic ( began with Dr. William Worrall Mayo, when he settled in the small frontier town of Rochester, Minnesota, in 1863. The Mayoclinic owes it’s existence also to the doctor’s two sons, Will and Charlie, who grew up sharing their father’s interest in health and medicine. After attending medical school, Dr. Will and Dr. Charlie joined their father’s medical practice in the early 1880s.

The Mayo School of Graduate Medical Education, oldest of the clinic’s five schools was founded in 1915 and has trained more than 15,000 alumni in virtually all medical specialties. Mayo Graduate School has granted about 409 graduate degrees in seven specialties since 1917.

Since 1972, the Mayo Medical School has graduated and trained more than 2,000 students. Established in 1973, Mayo School of Health Sciences enrolls approximately 360 students each year in 26 allied health science programs.

In 1996, the Mayo Clinic’s School of Continuing Medical Education officially became a school. It offers more than 7,500 hours of continuing medical education, and 310 courses each year.

Back to the top of Mayo Clinic.

Technorati Tags: , , ,